Volendam

I really fell in love with this little fishing town in North Holland, Volendam. It was so quaint and picturesque, and was a nice departure from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. I wish I had taken more pictures of the actual town itself, but instead I have a ton of pictures of this beautiful windmill we saw in town…so enjoy!

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

(Last windmill picture, I promise)

DSC_0049

After exploring the town for a bit, we had lunch along the waterfront where there were a good deal of shops, restaurants, and food stands. As I mentioned before, Volendam is a fishing town and is known for incredible seafood. We had our hearts set on trying out the seafood for lunch…until we saw a sign for pea soup in the restaurant we were at. It might have been due to the fact that we were all freezing, but pea soup sounded amazing at the time. It was delicious so I have no regrets!

DSC_0053

If I ever make it back to Holland I will definitely be spending more time in Volendam (and vow to try the seafood next time).

Well, that’s the last of our time in The Netherlands…Belgium, you’re up next!

Leave a Reply

