Bruges (Part I)

When I heard that we were going to make a stop in Belgium on this trip, I was thrilled; I’ve never been before. I was excited to explore Brussels, but ended up absolutely loving Bruges (a.k.a. Brugge), a charming city in West Flanders.

DSC_0067

Probably my only gripe with Bruges is that it is a rather sleepy city (probably part of its appeal), with really not a lot to do at night. That said, Bruges was hands down one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. Two days were not enough – I could have wandered the city’s little streets for a week!

[Our hotel was lovely (Hotel Novotel Brugge Centrum) and had a very central location]

DSC_0068

bruges10

I looked up the phrase in that painting; it’s Latin for something having to do with “welcome” (I couldn’t find an exact translation). You learn something new every day, eh? Thanks, Novotel!

[Belgium is known for its amazing beer, and we were told we had to try a locally-brewed beer brand called Leffe]

DSC_0072

bruges3

DSC_0071

DSC_0081

DSC_0090

DSC_0092

DSC_0100

DSC_0107

DSC_0111

[Belgian frites with curry ketchup – hit the spot after a long day of exploring]

DSC_0113

bruges6

[We missed the party, apparently]

DSC_0120

DSC_0127

[We had dinner at this quaint restaurant with flowers on all the tables]

DSC_0128

DSC_0130

[I recall hearing that Bruges, with its many canals, is known as the Venice of Belgium]

DSC_0131

DSC_0132

DSC_0133

bruges9

[So many swans in all the canals]

DSC_0142

DSC_0158

DSC_0159

[This grumpy guy made me laugh]

bruges13

I took a ton of pictures during our stay in Bruges (too picturesque not to), so there is more to come…stay tuned for part two!

One thought on “Bruges (Part I)

  1. Pingback: Waffle Love – je m'appelle ren

Leave a Reply

