Recent Additions to My Beauty Bag

Rimmel London Scandaleyes Eyeliner

I’m the “queen” of winged liner (and by queen, I mean I do a wing tip nearly every day but have yet to master the perfect line – let alone getting both sides to be even). The struggle is so real. Anyways, I’m always on the lookout for a good liner, especially one with staying power. My go-to is this one from Sephora, because it is serious when it says waterproof. Lately, I’ve been using this Clarins liner that my mom gave me, but truthfully, the tip is kind of tough and uncomfortable. Plus, I used up nearly all of it so I was on the hunt for a new liner.

DSC_0001

During my latest Target run, I found this Rimmel London waterproof eyeliner (I got the thin liner). The verdict: not bad! The tip is soft, so it glides along your eyelid very smoothly, making lining a breeze. However, I noticed smudging after a couple of hours, and it just doesn’t have the staying power like my beloved Sephora eyeliner. I still quite like it, though.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

My crazy sensitive skin is very finicky when it comes to moisturizers, but I gave this brand a whirl after discovering it via Sephora’s Skin Care IQ.

DSC_0013

I got the Ultra Repair Cream in the smallest (2 oz.) size to try it out. The verdict: I’m undecided. I like that it’s not greasy, nor does it irritate my skin, but it doesn’t hydrate as well as my favorite Clinique moisturizer does.

Pixi Glow Tonic

So I am very late to the game on trying this one! In my defense, Target only recently started selling the Glow Tonic here in The States. You Brits are a lucky lot! Thankfully, Refinery29 (my godsend) published an article several months ago informing me of this magical elixir’s Target arrival, and given its cult status in the UK, I had to see what all the fuss was about.

DSC_0015

The verdict: ok, I get the hype! My skin felt really soft after just one use, so I think I got overzealous (note my aforementioned sensitive skin). Given that the Glow Tonic is an exfoliant, I probably should have eased into using it, but it just made my skin so smooth that I was applying it daily. I did this for about a week or two and towards the end of that period, my skin got irritated and broken out. Sorry, skin! Going forward, I’ll be using it only once or twice a week (after all, you don’t exfoliate every day!).

I think next on my agenda is trying either the toner or cream (or both) from the Calming Seed line at The Face Shop. We’ll see!

More of my beauty shopping addiction: one // two // three

3 thoughts on “Recent Additions to My Beauty Bag

  1. Pingback: Recent Additions to My Beauty Bag | je m'appelle ren

  2. Pingback: Recent Additions to My Beauty Bag | je m'appelle ren

  3. Pingback: Recent Additions to My Beauty Bag | je m'appelle ren

Leave a Reply

