Mount Charleston

As mentioned here, I recently went on a quick getaway to Las Vegas. While I was excited to get out of town, I was worried that I would get a tad bored. Let me explain (and not to sound jaded, either) – I’ve been to Vegas multiple times before, and I’m really not a gambler. So what’s left to do? Well, there’s pretty good shopping, and exploring The Strip is always a must (plus, it’s great exercise).

Luckily for me, this trip churned out more adventure than I expected, thanks to the company I traveled with. We decided to rent a car for a couple days to escape The Strip, and I couldn’t have been happier! First up on the agenda: Mount Charleston.

map1

map2

road1

But first…coffee (at the Mount Charleston Lodge Restaurant).

coffee3

The Las Vegas Strip is a natural attraction for any Southern Nevada visitor, but there is so much more to explore (especially for you outdoorsy folks). I now realize that I sound like a “visit Nevada” spokesperson, but I am really just thrilled to have experienced more of what Nevada has to offer.

Mount Charleston is a short drive (it took us under an hour without traffic) from The Strip. Trust me, the drive is worth it – nothing like that fresh mountain air!

mtcharleston1

mtcharleston2

mtcharleston4

mtcharleston5

road2

road3

Learn more about Mount Charleston here.

More outdoor adventures: one // two // three

One thought on “Mount Charleston

Leave a Reply

