Bottle Tree Ranch

DSC_0007

I’m all about road trip oddities. I don’t even recall how I found out about Bottle Tree Ranch, but I knew I had to make the trek out to Oro Grande to see it in person.

DSC_0006

So, what is Bottle Tree Ranch? Well the name kind of gives it away, I suppose. Basically, some awesome guy named Elmer has amassed glass bottles and other antique odds and ends, and turned his collection into a beautiful garden (or “ranch”) of tree-like sculptures. It’s absolutely stunning.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

Oh my gosh…every nook and cranny of this place has a neat little addition. It’s easy to notice the beauty of the bottle “trees”, but take a look down (or up), and you’ll see how much attention to detail has been paid. No two sculptures are the same.

DSC_0029

DSC_0036

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0061

DSC_0066

Arghhh this next photo triggers my trypophobia, but I still thought it was neat and had to take a snap. It’s a bunch of old keys!

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

DSC_0071

DSC_0072

DSC_0083

Apparently, Elmer can often be seen around the premises and will greet and chat with visitors about his impressive artwork. I was so bummed that he wasn’t around at the time I was there; I would have loved to meet him!

DSC_0084

DSC_0086

DSC_0087

DSC_0095

Whew! Guys, we made it. Thanks for sticking with me. Believe it or not, this is merely a third of the pictures I took while at Bottle Tree Ranch.

You really need to check this place out! It’s perfect for a little day trip and is along the iconic Route 66. More info here, and directions below.

Bottle Tree Ranch
National Trails Hwy
Oro Grande, CA 92368

Summer is just around the corner! Are you itching to get away like I am? More road trip ideas: one // two // three

6 thoughts on “Bottle Tree Ranch

  1. Pingback: Love Mural – je m'appelle ren

  2. Pingback: Chandelier Tree – je m'appelle ren

  3. Pingback: Shakespeare Bridge – je m'appelle ren

  4. Pingback: Newport Beach Civic Center (Part II) | je m'appelle ren

Leave a Reply

