Museum of Death

DSC_0001

I mentioned here that I’ve always had a slight obsession with the macabre: Goosebumps (remember those books?!) and other ghost stories were on rotation quite a bit during my childhood, and let’s not get started on my adult addiction to T.V. shows like American Horror Story. Thus, my curiosity was piqued when I heard about the Museum of Death in Hollywood.

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

Ok so there are no pictures allowed inside the museum; although, if you look at their Yelp page, a bunch of rebellious folks actually did take photos. I didn’t have the guts to do the same, especially given all the dark subject matter. It just felt a little disrespectful in a way, you know? I wasn’t about to bring home some bad karma! Anyway, here are pictures from the (outside) premises, since I’m not able to share anything from my experience inside.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0017

I must admit that some of the museum exhibits were a bit much for me (i.e., the crime scene photos and embalming video, for instance). But I did learn a lot, and I especially liked the room of genetic oddities: albino animals, mutations, etc.

And since I barely have any pictures to share, you’ll have to see it all in person:

Museum of Death
6031 Hollywood Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90028

A few other museums to visit: one // two // three

3 thoughts on “Museum of Death

  1. Pingback: Weekend Snaps | je m'appelle ren

  2. Pingback: Bowers Museum (Part Three) | je m'appelle ren

  3. Pingback: Skirball Cultural Center (Part II) | je m'appelle ren

Leave a Reply

