Skirball Cultural Center (Part I)

I recently saw a banner for the pop art exhibit at Skirball Cultural Center (Roy Lichtenstein, to be exact). My mind immediately flashed back to undergrad, where I took a bunch of art history classes – one of which was a modern art course. I just had to see a real Lichtenstein piece in person! Way better than a textbook picture, right?

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

I took this picture because I thought he looked cute, hah.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

Vintage comic books. These weren’t illustrated by Lichtenstein, but were where he drew his inspiration from.

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

Neat, huh? I’ve always loved the kitsch and color of pop art. Go see Pop for the People before it’s gone!

More from Skirball up next.

2 thoughts on “Skirball Cultural Center (Part I)

  1. Pingback: Pacific Wind Arts & Sculpture Garden – je m'appelle ren

  2. Pingback: Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum (Part III) – je m'appelle ren

Leave a Reply

